Nuno skirt in progress

Just a quick post. I need 36 hours in a day.

I spent the morning prepping silk and mixing procion mx dye to make silk paints.  I know you can buy them, but they are quite expensive and i really like the luminosity from home made. Oh and of course you can mix any colour you want, in the quantities you need. Oh and another thing… they stay open longer, giving you time to play with them on the silk and helping avoid ‘tide’ marks.

It was great fun. I am a secret geek. I love working stuff out and then mixing it up.

This is going to be a Nuno skirt. I make them from time to time and sell them in a couple of boutiques. I wouldn’t want to do it all the time as the joy goes out of it, but every now and then the urge takes me. But at the moment I am making a couple as samples for the workshop in Orkney.

Must dash as I still have tons to do.

3 thoughts on “Nuno skirt in progress

  1. Can you share a recipe with us or is it a secret know how?:) Why procion dyes instead of acid ones?
    Anyway, I hope to see these skirts finished and some pics from your workshop too! Wishing you a lot of success! ox

  2. Hi,
    Sure I can. I will make a tutorial and down loadable pdf. Ooo fun.

    I do use acid dyes, but wanted to be able to dye silk and cotton using bath, paint and free flow. So I wanted the colours to match as much as possible. I don’t have a recipe for making acid painting colours so I went with procion mx.

Leave a Reply

